Search ASME: search

Divisions > Dynamic Systems & Control Division (DSCD)

Division Interests
Division Publications
DSCD Technical Committees
Division Administration

Mechatronics Technical Committee

The word mechatronics is defined as the synergistic integration of mechanical engineering with electronics and intelligent computer control in the design and manufacture of products and processes. Today, besides introducing the intelligence directly into product through embedded microcomputers, mechatronics also denotes an integrated design approach whereby all members of the product development team can work closely together throughout the design cycle to build specified machines that take maximum advantage of harmonious blending of many different technologies. Such an integrated design approach normally leads to systems that are more capable, precise, reliable, intelligent, and even cheaper. Since the basic concept of mechatronics is quite general, it has found a wide variety of applications and systems ranging from home appliances, cars, intelligent highways, robotics, manufacturing and automation, to biomedical devices.

The ASME DSCD Mechatronics Technical Committee was formally formed in 2006 to bring together all people working in mechatronics related research areas to promote advanced research and education in the field of mechatronics. Since 2008, the TC has been sponsoring the following two annual awards to encourage the participation of various activities organized by the TC and/or improve the quality of technical publications in the Mechatronics discipline:

ASME DSCD Best Conference Paper Award in Mechatronics

Nominations are invited for the 2014 ASME DSCD Best Conference Paper on Mechatronics and the 2014 ASME DSCD Best Student Paper on Mechatronics. The nomination deadline is June 15, 2014. The ASME DSCD Best Conference Paper on Mechatronics award is given to the best

original paper in the area of mechatronics presented at a DSCD-sponsored event.

To be considered for the 2014 awards, the paper must appear in the
proceedings of one of the following conferences:
2013 IEEE/ASME International Conference on Advanced Intelligent Mechatronics
2013 American Control Conference
2013 ASME DSCD Dynamic Systems and Control Conference

The ASME DSCD Best Conference Paper on Mechatronics award is given to the best original paper in the area of mechatronics presented at a DSCD-sponsored event.  A nominating letter should briefly explain the importance of the paper and its worthiness for recognition. The authors of the winning paper must be members of the ASME DSCD at the time of nominations. They will share a $750 prize and will each receive a certificate honoring their achievement. The award will be presented at the 2014 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference.

ASME DSCD Best Student Paper on Mechatronics

The ASME DSCD Best Student Paper on Mechatronics award  is given to the best original paper in the area of mechatronics written primarily by a student author and presented at a DSCD-sponsored event. A nominating letter should identify the student author, and briefly explain the importance of the paper and its worthiness for recognition. The letter should include a certification by the student’s advisor that (a) the designated author was a student at the time the paper was submitted, (b) the nominee is a member or student member of ASME DSCD, and (c) the student author is responsible for the main technical contribution and the majority of the writing. The winning student author will receive a $750 prize and a certificate honoring his or her achievement. The award will be presented at the 2014 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference.

Nominations for 2014 awards, as well as further inquiries, should be sent to

Won-jong Kim, Ph.D.
Awards Chair, ASME DSCD Technical Committee on Mechatronics

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Texas A&M University, TX

Nomination deadline: June 15, 2014

We look forward to your nominations!

Current Officers of Mechatronics Technical Committee

Won-jong Kim, Awards Chair
Texas A&M University, TX

Xiaobo Tan, Chair
Michigan State University, MI

Jingang Yi, Vice Chair
Rutgers University, NJ 

Qingze Zou, Conference Chair
Rutgers University, NJ

Lei Zuo, Secretary
Stony Brook University, NY

Past Chairs of of Mechatronics Technical Committee

2013: Won-jong Kim @ Texas A&M University
2012: Jordan Berg @ Texas Tech University
2011: Qian Wang @ Pennsylvania State University
2010: Bin Yao @ Purdue University
2009: Kok‐Meng Lee @ Georgia Institute of Technology
2006-2008: Brad Paden @ University of California, Santa Barbara

Copyright © 1996-2010 ASME International. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Statement